The School District of Lee County is excited to announce 29 students have been honored as 2021 Carson Scholars.  The Carson Scholars Fund will provide each student with a $1,000 College Scholarship.

The Carson Scholars Fund awards $1,000 college scholarships to students in grades 4-11 who excel academically and are dedicated to serving their communities. Each school is able to nominate one student to apply. Carson Scholars must have a minimum GPA of 3.75 and display humanitarian qualities through community service.

The 29 students honored as Carson Scholars this year are:

Magdalena AbellaOak Hammock Middle School8
Delaney BeougherDr. Carrie D. Robinson Littleton Elementary School5
Issac CiriloColonial Elementary School5
Austin CoulyCaloosa Elementary School5
Alivia DavisRay V. Pottorf Elementary School5
Sebastian DiazLee Virtual School7
Gladys GonzalezLehigh Elementary School4
Hendrix KohnEdison Park Elementary School5
Valkyrie McClellanMirror Lakes Elementary School5
Brody MeyerSkyline Elementary School5
Matthew MillerHeights Elementary School5
Janaiya MontrondJ. Colin English Elementary School5
Karime Morales DiazOrange River Elementary School5
Marissa MorganGateway Elementary School5
Elisha NicholsonTanglewood Elementary School5
Leslie NiclesTropic Isles Elementary School5
Christopher OttoliniRiverdale High School11
Maxon PalombaPinewoods Elementary School5
Mason PequigneyVillas Elementary School5
Katherine ReidAllen Park Elementary School5
Kaitlyn RiderDiplomat Elementary School5
Geoffrey SelbyThe Sanibel School5
Keira SingerPine Island Elementary School5
Jayden SmithNorth Fort Myers Academy for the Arts5
Leah SwansonThe Alva School5
Adelle ThomasSan Carlos Park Elementary School5
Levi TownsendBayshore Elementary School5
Gwendolyn WallaceOrangewood Elementary School5
Ethan ZigrandEdgewood Academy School5

80 students in the School District of Lee County are earning Carson Scholar Recognition in 2021. Carson Scholar Recognition is an elite honor that affirms the prestigious status of Carson Scholars in their pursuit of academic and career goals.  Eight of those 80 have earned Carson Scholar status every year of eligibility:

2021 Recognized Carson Scholars 
Isabella AcostaFort Myers High SchoolFort Myers
Hunter BaileyMariner Middle SchoolCape Coral
Aubrey BeougherMariner Middle SchoolCape Coral
Kaelyn BernaldoCypress Lake High SchoolFort Myers
Katie BlackwellNorth Fort Myers High SchoolNorth Fort Myers
Hannah BlasettiNorth Fort Myers High SchoolNorth Fort Myers
Kayah Bonilla-MasCypress Lake High SchoolFort Myers
Lily BoutelleFort Myers High SchoolFort Myers

The Carson Scholars Fund, Inc. was founded in 1994 by now retired world-renowned Johns Hopkins Pediatric Neurosurgeon Benjamin S. Carson, M.D. and his wife, Candy to address the education crisis in the United States.  They believed that if children could be taught early to excel, they would stay motivated and have a higher chance of educational success later in life. The 10,000th scholarship was just awarded this year.

About East Lee News

Dive into our latest issue for a vibrant snapshot of Southwest Florida’s pulse. With diverse topics and engaging articles, we ensure you’re always in tune with the latest news and stories that matter most in your area. Connect with the heart of East Lee County News with The Roar.

Recent Posts

Request Banner Ad Placement

Sales / Media Inquiries

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors