The Foundation For Lee County Public Schools Announces The 34th Annual Golden Apple Recognition Program Award Finalists

Pictured 1/22/21:  Golden Apple Finalist Joseph Camputaro of The Sanibel School and his students 

FORT MYERS, Fla (January 22, 2021) – The Foundation for Lee County Public Schools is pleased to announce the 34th Annual Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Program Finalists. The Foundation’s Golden Apple Selection Committee, made up of community and business leaders, were charged with the arduous task of reviewing and ranking applications to select thirty finalists. Finalists were surprised in their classrooms surrounded by students, administrators, and fellow educators.

“During this very trying time in our community and throughout the world, there has been an eye-opening recognition of the importance of the teaching profession”, stated Marshall T. Bower Esq., President & CEO of The Foundation for Lee County Public Schools. “Teachers have gone above and beyond to make sure they are meeting the needs of our community’s most valuable asset, our students.  These 30 Golden Apple Finalists are outstanding representatives of all our great teachers”. 

2021  Annual Golden Apple Award Finalists:
  • Taylor Ashby – North Fort Myers High
  • Jamie Ayres – Cape Coral High
  • Yanet Barrero – North Fort Myers High
  • Alisa Brown – Hancock Creek Elementary
  • Dr. Nathan Buehler – Mirror Lakes Elementary
  • Joseph Camputaro – The Sanibel School
  • Christy Falk – Allen Park Elementary
  • Annette Gallipo – Bonita Springs High
  • Brittany Gonzalez – Tortuga Preserve Elementary
  • Colt Hartstein – Mariner High
  • Shelly Hassett – Dr. Carrie D Robinson Elementary
  • Anne Hester – East Lee County High
  • Melissa Holland – Tanglewood Elementary
  • Sarah Jones – Ida S Baker High
  • Sara Kizzire – Lehigh Senior High
  • Ashley Koehler – Cape Coral High
  • Louis Lillard – East Lee County High
  • Kaisha Louis – Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle
  • Shelby Massaro – Cypress Lake Middle
  • Heather Morse – Gulf Middle
  • Joni Pelletier – Treeline Elementary
  • Marylin Prysi – Villas Elementary
  • Jennie Rimes – Fort Myers Middle Academy
  • Krista Rivera – Gulf Middle
  • Kristen Santiago – Diplomat Middle
  • Barbara Scarnato – The Sanibel School
  • Lori Shaw – Cape Coral High
  • Trevor Tran – Fort Myers High
  • Bryan Williams – Mariner High
  • Dana Windey – Riverdale High

Finalists are personally interviewed and observed in their classrooms by the Golden Apple selection committee, and six teachers are selected as the Golden Apple Award Recipients. The Recipients are honored at the Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Banquet, a black-tie affair being held at Caloosa Sound Convention Center & Amphitheater on Friday, April 16, 2021.

About East Lee News

Stay Up to Date with Southwest Florida’s Latest Issue. We cover any and all topics of interest for those living near and far. Stay up to date with the latest articles.

Recent Posts

Request Banner Ad Placement

Sales / Media Inquiries

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors